Soul Fantasy

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

The Krush - Leading lady 1982

Krush began as a Waialua based band named "New Experience". The members were Edwin Ramones, Wade Kuroiwa, Butchie Canencia and Macky Galibiso. In 1977 they changed their name to the “Fabulous Krush” when Yemun Chung one of the top talent managers, he took several members of New Experience and he added Bobby Gonzalez. They adopted a show band format and by summertime they opened at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. They did their own show until in 1980.
In 1981 they released two albums "Fabulous Krush" which won two Hoku Awards and "Krush". Afterwards they recorded album entitled "Never felt so right" in 1982 on Mele Records. In this album, members were Ben Vegas, Bobby Gonzales, Butchie Canencia, Darryl Alvarico, Edwin Ramones, Jesse Gamiao, Macky Galibiso, Phillip Galaura and Wade Kuroiwa.

I have chosen a brilliant track entitled "Leading lady".

Today, The Krush is back! Edwin Ramones, the leader of the three previous generations of the group, has resurrected the act once again for a one-nighter Saturday at the Esprit Nightclub in the Sheraton Waikiki. Ramones, whose primary instrument over the years has been keyboards, is the only member of any of the three previous versions of the Krush that is participating in what might be dubbed "The Krush 4.0."

Note: The above posted track is not played in full.

No comments: