Soul Fantasy

Monday, April 1, 2013

The Memphis Horns - Welcome to Memphis 1979 Lp

The Memphis Horns in 1979 without Wayne Jackson

I was thinking to present an article about Andrew Love and The Memphis Horns when the great saxophonist Andrew Love passed away in April 2012. The 70-year-old musician passed away at his Memphis home on April 12 from complications of Alzheimer’s disease.
What can I say about this band ? Perhaps The Memphis Horns were the greatest soul horn section ever. They have collaborated with great artists such as Aretha FranklinIsaac Hayes, Otis Redding, Elvis Presley, Al Green, Rufus Thomas and many others. They have been recording for over four decades. During this period, they played on 14 Grammy-winning songs, 52 Number Ones and 113 Top Tens.
They released six albums from 1970 to the late 70s. The last of them was entitled "Welcome to Memphis". It was released on RCA Victor. It was recorded at ABC Recording Studios, Los Angeles,CA.
In this album, as The Memphis Horns, appeared Andrew Love on soprano sax and flute, Jack Hale Sr. on trombone, Lewis Collins Jr. on alto saxophone and flute, James Mitchell on baritone sax and flute. Wayne Jackson had decided to follow another road in his life, travelling with the legend of country music, Marty Robbins.

The album was produced and arranged by the legend Clarence McDonald. Some musicians that played were Bobby Eaton on bass, Theodore "Ted" Sparks on drums, Clarence McDonald and Patrick Moten on keyboards, Louis "Lucious" Palomo on pecussion, Michael McGloiry and W.Michael Toles on guitars. 
I have chosen two ballads entitled "No time for tears (Think about the good days)" and "My heart belongs to you". Lead vocals by William C.Brown III and Joyce D.Wright. I want to note that William C.Brown was more known as sound engineer than as singer. He is a brother of the great singer Randy Brown.

Note: The above posted tracks are not played in full

No comments: