Soul Fantasy

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Lee Mays - Real Love (Upcoming CD)

Three years ago, I had the opportunity to present an article concerning Lee Mays and the album named "Shine Your Love" which was released in 1976. It has been a few years since then, and Lee Mays returned back on recordings with a new album entitled "Real Love". 
For the past 15-17 years Lee Mays has written several songs which were "stashed away". The question has always been whether or not the tunes written years ago would ever be heard. Fortunately, the dream for Lee has come true and the songs are available for the world to hear. It is worth to say that along with the dream of Lee, we have the pleasure to hear great songs that should be our companion along the evenings".

This album includes the song "Do you wanna be my baby" which I presented on my article three years ago. It was written by Lee Mays and recorded in Dallas, Texas. Lee Mays on lead vocals, Derrick "D-Mac" McCampbell on background vocals. Dave Barnett on guitar, Keith Anderson on saxophone, and Lee Mays on electric piano. Produced by Dave Barnett and Lee Mays.

You can also see the video from youtube.

However another song stands out from the album. This song really touched me and it is entitled "A Piece Of Your Heart". It was written by Lee Mays in 1999.

It is excellent song which was programmed by Greg Gianoca. Mr.Giacona programmed the keyboards, drums, bass, and other instruments. Lee Mays had collaborated with Greg Giacona on previous recordings back in 2000. He programmed all of the instrumentation on "Where Would I Be Without Your Love" and "Let Your Love Flow". Lee Mays used him on five songs for the upcoming "Real Love" CD.  Greg Giacona did an excellent job on the piano solo on the song "Real Love". He's a great smooth jazz pianist and has done his own CD album of instrumentals. The saxophone player on "A Piece of Your Heart" was Fulton Turnage.

Fulton Turnage with Lee Mays

Fulton is also an excellent singer and is singing background vocals on "A Piece of Your Heart". The other background singer is Patricia Castillo. Patricia is a gospel singer and recording artist. The guitar player on "A Piece of Your Heart" is Denny Lash

Denny has played guitar with Mary Wells, Ike Turner, The Drifters, Don Johnson from Taste of Honey, and Floyd Sneed from Three Dog Night. The recordings mostly took place at The Kitchen Studios in Dallas, Texas. Artists such as Erykah Badu, Andre 3000, Roy Ayers, Betty Wright, Juvenille, and Wiz Khalifa all have recorded projects there.

Note: The above posted tracks are not played in full

# The album "Real Love" has been released in CD and you can find digital download here There are the songs of the album "Real Love" and also the gospel songs from the album of 1976. You can also see on CDBABY.

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

A Short Tribute To Charles Love of Bloodstone

Left to Right: Willis Draffen Jr, Harry Williams, Charles McCormick and Charles Love
I decided to make an article for a short tribute to Charles Love founder, singer, songwriter and guitarist of the group Bloodstone who died a few a days ago on 7 March 2014 due to complications from pneumonia in his home town of Kansas City, Missouri.
The group was formed in 1962 during a talent show at Central High School in Kansas City, Missouri. Harry Williams and Roger Durham were in one vocal group, Charles Love and Charles McCormick in another, while the guitarist Willis Druffen Jr. and the drummer Melvin Webb made up one half of a four-piece band. In fact they were a seven - piece band members along with Kenneth Smith. They started under the name The Sinceres a name adopted from Harry and Roger's old group.
The group moved to Los Angeles, California. By 1971, the band consisted of Melvin Webb on drums, Roger Durham on percussion, Charles Love on guitar and vocals, Charles McCormick on bass, Harry Williams on percussion, and Willis Draffen on guitar. The managers George Braunstein and Ron Hamady also replaced their drummer Melvin Webb with Eddie Summers, a resident of Los Angeles, California.
In total the group has recorded eleven albums until in 1984.
Unfortunately Charles Love did not sing any hit of Bloodstone because Harry Williams and Charles McCormick sang most songs of the group. However Charles Love has written some great ballads. I have chosen three (3) tracks written by himself.

The first song is the title track "We Go A Long Way Back" of 1982 which was released on T-Neck Records. This song reached #5 at R&B charts in the spring of 1982. Bloodstone met manager Kitty Sears who believed in "We Go A Long Way Back". With Kitty Sears' help, they landed a deal with The Isley Brothers' T-Neck label.
Produced, arranged and conducted by McKinley Jackson. Executive production by Isley Brothers.

Charles McCormick decided to leave the group and was replaced by Ron Wilson and Ronald Bell. Harry Williams had spotted in an L.A. nightclub. They cut one more album for T-Neck Records entitled "Party" in 1984.
From this album I have chosen the tracks "It Feels So Good (With You)" and "Why Be The First One Home" which were written by Charles Love.
Arranged by Gene Page. Produced by McKinley Jackson. I want to note that "Why Be The First One Home" can be heard anytime and anywhere with pleasure.

Note: The above posted tracks are not played in full

Monday, March 10, 2014

Chris Martino & Tram - (Self-titled) Lp

After having a break for a few days, I'm here presenting an extremely rare album. Today my article is not a soul album but it is very interesting. It was released probably between 1976 and 1977. Chris Martino, a native Italian, was born in Corleone, a small town in Sicily. He left with his family to USA. 
He began singing and playing guitar at an early age. He has recorded for RCA records and Art Kass's Buddah records. He joined in the group Tram in the mid 70s and they formed a group under the name Chris Martino & Tram. The members were Chris Martino on vocals, Doreen Vincent on vocals, piano and violin, Mike Kureczka on vocals and drums, Tom Leonardis on vocals and lead guitar, and Gene Wargacki on vocals, piano, organ and bass.
They appeared in concerts and various clubs across the country. They released at least two albums, this self-titled album and a live album named "Live At The Drop Zone" where Chris Martino sings some favorite italian songs.
The self-titled album was recorded at Vantone Studios, West Orange, N.J. Except for the members of Tram  the musicians Don Frio & Carmine D'Amigo on guitars, Julie Ruggerio on bass, Ron Yacovetti on drums, Lou Toby on keyboards participated. Also Pat Russo & Bernie Glow on trumpets and Barry Rogers on trombone. Produced, arranged and conducted by Lou Toby.
Most songs of the album are covers. I have chosen the tracks "After The Lovin", "Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel", "You'll Never Know" and "Never, Never". Vocals on "Never, Never" by Doreen Vincent.

Note: The above posted tracks are not played in full