Soul Fantasy

Sunday, September 30, 2012

Southern Cookin' - (Self-titled) 1979 Lp

Southern Cookin was an obscure soul / funk group who released one and only album on Polydor Records in 1979. Southern Cookin were Jimmy Jules, Gene Williams, Ronnie Dents, Alosia Joseph and Ann Johnson.
Many collectors and fans of soul and funk music know Jimmy Jules from the mid 70s when he released an album entitled "Xtmas done got funky" under the name Jimmy Jules And The Nuclear Soul System with Jackie Spencer on his own label called Jim Gem Records

At that time he also released a single entitled "The New Year / It's impossible" on his own label. Both of these songs were included on the album "Xtmas done got funky".

Jimmy Jules is a singer, a saxophone and trumpet player as well as a keyboards player. He was born in New Orleans. His real name is Charley C.Julien. He used a number of nicknames including God's Gem, St.John Icon and others. He started to use the name Jimmy Jules when he released a single in 1961 on Atlantic Records.
He performed as backing singer for many artists such as Marvin GayeLittle Willie John, Otis Redding, Garnett Mimms, Betty Everett, Jimmy Reed and Simms Twins. He appeared in various clubs accross the country from the early 60s to late 90s. He has also written songs for the artists Johnnie TaylorArchie Bell & Drells, Three Degrees, Darcus, Etta James, Charley Wynn and Gospel Renaissance.

After the album "Xtmas done got funky", he joined in the group Southern Cookin. The group started working an album which was released on Polydor Records in 1979. The album was produced by himself.

Horn arrangements by Rick Woodard and rhythm arrangements by Ronnie Dents, Chucky Burke and Jimmy Jules. String arrangements by Jimmy Jules. Backing vocals by The Quiet Explosion. All the songs were written by Jimmy Jules.

I have chosen two tracks entitled "Do your thing" and "One of those days".  Jimmy Jules sings on "One of those days".

Jimmy Jules did a European tour at the Umbria Jazz Festival in 1994. Today Jimmy Jules is an organist/music teacher. 

 Note: The above posted tracks are not played in full

Monday, September 24, 2012

Brick - Seaside vibes 1981

Yes I know. This article is not rare. Everyone can find this song. However, the song "Seaside vibes" by the group Brick,  I think it is one of the best soul/jazz/funk songs. I always wanted to present this song on my blog. It was included on the 1981 album entitled "Summer Heat" in 1981 on Bang Records. As I remember, I bought this album, between 2002-2003 in Athens. Several years later, I also bought the 12 incher entitled "Sweat (til you get wet) / Seaside vibes".

In fact this album that was the 5th album, is the best of Brick. It was recorded under the direction of the great Ray Parker J. Ray Parker Jr. was the producer. He also helped as a guitarist player and co-composer of some songs of the album.

The lyrics of the song "Seaside Vibes" was written by Ray Ransom & Jimmy Brown and the music was written by Regi Hargis Hickman. All of them were members of the group along with Eddie Irons and Donald Nevins.

Note: The above posted track is not played in full

Saturday, September 15, 2012

Yuji Ohno & His Project - Theme from "proof of the man" 1977 (Instrumental)

Yuji Ohno is a japanese jazz musician. Ohno has composed great music for films and television series. He became known with the Japanese anime television series "Lupin III" specifically the 1977 series. At that time he released an album under the name Yuji Ohno & His Project  entitled "Proof of the man" on Atlantic Records in Japan. 
At the same time "Proof of the man" was released as a single on the same label.

I have chosen the instrumental version and not the vocal version because the instrumental version has a great sax tune. It was recorded at Sound City Studio & Mouri Studio in the late of June 1977. Arranged by Yuji Ohno and produced by Yuji Ohno and Ikuzo Orita

It was written by Yuji Ohno. Solo sax by Jake Conception from Philippines.

Note: The above posted single is not played in full

Sunday, September 9, 2012

Quiet Fire - I've got everything I need 1979

Quiet Fire was an obscure group from San Diego. The lead singer of the group was Willie Steel. Another member of the group was Bobby Turner.
The group released two singles. The first single entitled "Lost (without your love) / Your kind of love" in 1977. It was released on The Hit Machine Records from San Diego.

"Lost (without your love)" was written by Willie Steel. It was produced by Willie Steel and Marty Kuritz. Enjoy this rarity.

The second single entitled "It's a holiday / I've got everything I need" was released on RCA Records in 1979 as a 12 incher. I bought this record for the fantastic song "I've got everything I need". This song was written by David Sanchez and Marty Kuritz. Marty Kuritz was also co-writer on "Lost (without your love)". Produced and arranged by Clarence K. McDonald.

The group collaborated with the songwriters Marty Kuritz and the late David Sanchez for many years. I had the pleasure to speak with Marty Kuritz. Kuritz and Sanchez have written several songs for Quiet Fire. However some songs were recorded under the direction of Clarence McDonald.

I want to thank the great, producer, songwriter, arranger and pianist Clarence McDonald who helped me to find Willie Steel lead singer of the Quiet Fire.
Finally, when I was looking for info about the group Quiet Fire, I found some groups with the same name from mid 70s to 90s.

Note: The above posted tracks are not played in full

Saturday, September 1, 2012

Rojay North - Punch Mellow Lp

Rojay North is an unknown singer, songwriter and actor. His real name is Robert J.Youngs. As an actor he appeared in various films and he was associated with Columbia, Universal and 20th Century Fox in the late 70s and early 80s.
As a singer he released an album entitled "Punch Mellow" on his own label called Cherry Pie Records.

It was recorded at "The Burbank Studios" Burbank, California. All the songs were written, produced and arranged by himself. I chose five songs entitled "I don't mind your change of mind", "I love you in a very special way", "Lovin ain't the same", "Lovin and lovin" and "Don't confuse me".

Note: The above posted tracks are not played in full